When you get a DUI, there is an assumption that you are required to get the high-risk insurance, SR22. However, this is not true. SR22 insurance is only required in the state of Utah if the person is convicted of not having insurance. So what is SR22 and what are the regulations for it in Utah? Read below to find out.
SR22 Regulations for Utah
SR22 is a type of insurance a driver carries when they are considered high risk or if they have been required to carry this type of insurance and it varies from state to state. If a driver stops carrying this insurance prior to the mandated time, they will be in danger of losing their license.
There are steps to the SR22 process that must be followed before a driver’s license is reissued and the driver is permitted to drive again.
- The driver compares rates for insurance companies that offer SR22.
- For the state of Utah, the minimum coverage drivers must have for the SR22 policy is $3,000 for personal protection, $25,000 for injury or fatality of another, $65,000 for injury or fatality of more than one person and $15,000 for property damage.
- Once the policy is in place, the insurance company sends the SR22 to the Utah State Department of Motor Vehicles to request approval.
- The driver will receive a letter of acceptance or rejection within a 30-day period.
- If the Utah driver gets accepted, his or her driver’s license will be reinstated.
- For the state of Utah, the driver is required to maintain SR22 insurance for a minimum of three years.
- Failure to keep the SR22 policy current can result in the driver’s license being revoked. Insurance companies are required by law to inform the Utah DMV should be a lapse in the driver’s insurance. The State will usually revoke the license until an SR22 policy is put back in place.
Keep in mind that these are just the regulations for Utah. If you get a DUI in Utah, call Carl Anderson to understand what the rules and regulations will be for you. We will fight for your rights and help you through the whole process.