Possible Penalties In DUI Cases
Knowledgeable Salt Lake City Attorney Explains Possible DUI Penalties
Lawmakers, police and prosecutors alike sometimes prosecute and punish certain crimes more harshly than others. This is especially true when they feel a certain amount of political pressure, and it is certainly the case with charges of driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI). Prosecutors and other officials are often obligated to make examples of defendants in such cases, and so the corresponding penalties for these crimes tend to be harsh. If you or a loved one faces charges of DUI or DWI, you must understand the potential penalties you face should you ultimately be convicted.
You need an experienced DUI attorney in the jurisdiction where you were charged who can explain your case to you and protect your rights. Contact The Law Offices of Carl N. Anderson, III, PLLC, in Salt Lake City for the help you need.
DUI And DWI Penalties In Utah
Every state levies its own sets of DUI and DWI penalties, but the penalties in Utah serve as a solid bellwether for other jurisdictions. As with most states, the penalties for DUI and DWI vary based on whether or not you have faced such charges before.
First offense, minimum penalties
- 48 hours minimum jail time or work service
- $700 minimum fine
- 120-day license suspension
- Confinement to home
Second offense, minimum penalties
Third offense, minimum penalties
- 1,500 hours minimum jail time
- $1500 minimum fine
- Two-year license suspension
- Three years with an interlock ignition device on your vehicle if within 10 years of your previous conviction
- Confinement to home
Additional possible penalties in all cases
- Supervised probation
- Electronic monitoring
- Mandatory drug or alcohol abuse treatment and education
- DNA sample submitted to the state (third offense)
Penalties For Field Sobriety Test Refusal In Utah
Utah maintains implied consent laws, which say you legally consent to a field sobriety test simply by getting behind the wheel of a car. You can still refuse to take a field sobriety test if police stop you on suspicion of DUI, but doing so yields certain additional penalties. Still, refusal to submit such a test may ultimately benefit your DUI defense.
More Articles About DUI Penalties
- Drivers License Suspension
- Felony DUI
- Ignition Interlock Devices
- Underaged DUI
- Vehicular Homicide DUI
- Boating Under the Influence
DUI Penalties Clearly Explained By A Salt Lake City DUI Penalty Lawyer
Carl N. Anderson, III, possesses years of experience battling DUI charges and can explain the potential penalties as well as any Salt Lake City DUI attorney practicing today. He is licensed to practice in Utah, Colorado and Nebraska. Contact The Law Offices of Carl N. Anderson online or at 801-336-4551 to arrange a free consultation today.
Carl N. Anderson, III can help residents of Utah, Colorado and Nebraska. Credit Cards OK ∙ Free Initial Consultations ∙ Aquí Se Habla Español. Contact him online or at 801-285-0303 to arrange a free consultation today.